+27 (0) 11 717 4028 journinfo@wits.ac.za   

 

2017 Timetable (draft)

First Semester: Monday 06 February – Friday 19 May

Monday 4 – 6pm Tuesday 4 – 6pm Wednesday 4 – 6pm Thursday 4 –  6pm Friday 9am -12:00
Journalism for Communicators
Venue: Drum Room
The Story of Money
Venue: Drum Room
Media & Society
(Masters)

Venue: V Weekblad
Journalism Studies A
(Mid-career hons)

Venue: Drum Room
Journalism Studies A
(Career-entry hons)

Venue: Drum Room
Media, Law & Ethics
Venue: V Weekblad
Creating the media
(FoJLab fellows – tbc)
Venue: V Weekblad

Block release courses (8:30am – 5pm daily)

Course Name Dates Venue
Radio Studies Intro seminar 22 – 24 Feb; seminars 4 – 6pm on 22 March, 5 April, 19 April and May 3; final seminar 19 May 9th floor Seminar Room.
TV and Video Journalism Monday 12th June – Friday 23rd June 10th Floor, Rand Daily Mail Lab
Radio Journalism Monday 12th June – Friday 23rd June 9th Floor, Radio Academy
Reporting on Children Monday 26th June – Friday 7th July 10th Floor Drum Seminar Room
Intro to Financial Journalism Monday 26th June – Friday 7th July 10th Floor Rand Daily Mail Lab
Photo Journalism Monday 10th July – Friday 21st July 10th Floor Drum Seminar Room
Online Journalism Monday 10th July – Friday 21st July 10th Floor Rand Daily Mail Lab
Journalism Research (Hons) Thursday 27th July – Friday 28th July
Investigative Journalism tbc
Media Management tbc

Second Semester: Monday 24 July – Tuesday 31 October

Monday 4 – 6pm Tuesday 4 – 6pm Wednesday 4 – 6pm Thursday 4 –  6pm Friday 9am -12:00
Financial Journalism
Venue: Drum Room
Creative Writing for Journalists
Venue: Drum Room
Advanced Sub-Editing
Venue: Drum Room
Feature Writing
Venue: V Weekblad
Development    Communications (M)
Venue: V Weekblad
Journalism Research (Hons)
Monday 6 – 8pm
Narrative Non-fiction
Venues: Drum Room, 10th Floor; Vrye Weekblad seminar room, 11th Floor; Radio Academy seminar room; 12th floor seminar room

Development Communication Certificate

Devcom Cert A:

Module 1: Mon 13 – Fri 17 Feb
Module 2: Mon 13 – Fri 17 March
Module 3: Mon 3 – Fri 7 April

Devcom Cert B:

Module 1: Mon 27 Feb – Fri 3 March
Module 2: Mon 27 to Fri 31 March
Module 3: Mon 8 – Fri 12 May

 

Devcom Cert A:

Module 1: Mon, 15 to Fri, 19 May
Module 2: Mon 19 – Fri 23 June
Module 3: Mon 17 to Fri 21 July

Devcom Cert B:

Module 1: Mon 29 May to Fri, 2 June
Module 2: Mon 3 to Fri 7 July
Module 3: Mon 31 July to Fri, 4 August